Nigeno unplugged

Hey all!

A few days ago my marvellous kit was delivered from Quietus, and life has just been so busy I haven’t had time to give it the proper write-up it deserves. And because life is going to stay busy for the next week or so, I’m making this special verse-free post, to facilitate the voicing of my praise without the limiting contrivance of a poetic shroud.

So, here it is! Firstly in all its red-and-silver glory (click photos to enlarge):

All wrapped up

And then, unveiled for the world to see:

Kit unwrapped

This kit contains so much great stuff! Firstly Quietus had written me a poem, a gesture that really adds a personal note and makes the kit all the more special. Then came the goodies! First and foremost the hat and mitts set, which arrived just in time for the cold weather here in the Netherlands:Hat & mitts

Quietus did a great job choosing contrasting colours for the hat, which I love. The mitts fit perfectly, and the cables are very elegant! Both have been doing a great job keeping me warm in the snowy weather over the last couple of days. Next, the yarn:Nummy nummy yarn!

This photo really doesn’t do justice to the colours, with its delicious browns and caramels. The colours suit me perfectly (several people have already commented on that fact!), and merino/nylon blends are my favourite. Yay! Quietus also sent me two patterns: the Socktopia “Fawkes” socks, and Kristi & Kristi’s “Gentleman Socks”. Both patterns look great, and I can’t wait to try them.

Jelly Belly

Jelly Belly! My favourite American candy, and tons of them! I think I’ll mix them all up in a bowl and share them at New Year’s. Plus there were some m&m’s and another chocolate bar in the shape of a million bucks, but they’re already all gone now :-). I also got a “Great works of Cow literature” calendar:

Cow literature

This page is from December, representing Charles Dickens’ “A Christmas Cowbell”. Other selections include “The Three Brisketeers”, “Bulliver’s Travels” and “Mooby Dick”. Hilarious! The remaining items in the kit were a wooden geometric puzzle (identical to one that I used to play with as a child but never solved), a book of Sudoku puzzles (which come in very handy on Sunday mornings), and a Ravenclaw pennant sticker.

Quietus, thank you so much for a  great kit. I know you had lots of other things on your mind during the swap, and I very much appreciate all the effort you went to! Hope your kit is everything you dreamed of, and I also wish you and the other swap members a very merry Christmas, and all the best for the new year.

Eugene.

One Response to “Nigeno unplugged”

  1. I read this piece of writing completely regarding the difference of most up-to-date and preceding technologies, it’s awesome article.

Leave a comment