Duelling club round 2

The battle’s over! Sorely tested,
I lay my needles down, and lo,
To my opponent (sadly bested),
Dear Enna, I must say, chapeau!
Your fighting spirit got me going
And gave me speed when I was slowing,
So some would say (I think it’s true)
I owe my victory to you!
To praise a thing of strength or beauty
Cannot be seen as truly fair;
To praise the thing that put it there
However, is our rightful duty!
And so this poem, on my behalf,
Will serve here as your epitaph.

Eugene.

Leave a Reply

